THE BEAUTIFUL REGIONof Charlevoix

Activités Charlevoix hiver

Our history

Homeland of several large Quebec families, it is a place of passage for Amerindians before the 17th century who come for hunting and seasonal fishing. It was from 1675 that settlers of European origin come to live here under a seigneurial system which is finally abolished in 1854.

The region first takes the name Charlevoix in 1855 in honor of Father François-Xavier de Charlevoix, a Jesuit who was the first historian of New France. Until the twentieth century, the main economic activities were agriculture, cabotage and wood harvesting, but the region is already seeing tourists visiting starting from 1760.

Tourists mainly arrive by cruise ship in the region after 1840, despite its difficult to reach. It was not before1970 that a modern road makes the region wide open to touring. Subsequently, tourism is fast becoming the main activity of the region. The Manoir Richelieu, still present to this day, was built in 1898.

  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix
  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix
  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix
  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix

  Rich
heritage

Located on the north shore of the St. Lawrence River, the Charlevoix region has a rich natural, historical and tourist heritage. Since 1988, UNESCO recognizes it as a world biosphere reserve.

Nearby cities

Founded in 1979, the tourist region of Charlevoix includes among its municipality three that are members of the Most Beautiful Villages of Quebec. You can find your way around by sectors: Baie-Saint-Paul and surrounding area, the Charlevoix River Road, Isle-aux-Coudres, the Charlevoix Mountains Road, La Malbaie and its surroundings, the Charlevoix Marine Park sector and the Charlevoix Flavour Road.

  • Baie-Saint-Paul
  • Les Éboulements
  • Isle-aux-Coudres
  • Petite-Rivière-Saint-François
  • Saint-Hilarion
  • Saint-Urbain
  • Lac-Pikauba
  • Baie-Sainte-Catherine
  • Clermont
  • La Malbaie
  • Notre-Dame-des-Monts
  • Saint-Aimé-des-Lacs
  • Saint-Irénée
  • Saint-Siméon
  • Mont-Élie
  • Sagard

Agrotourism

Agrotourism and fine dining offer you an unforgettable experience in Charlevoix whose culinary reputation is second to none. The chiefs and producers in the region never stop rivaling in ingenuity and originality. They bring their special touch to offered products and cooked dishes to stand out and for you to take the greatest pleasure in tasting them.

Pictures of our lovely region

Located east of Quebec City in the heart of the Canadian Shield, this region near the National Capital has a rich tradition of hospitality that dates back more than two centuries. Its evocative and inspiring scenery has conquered painters as well as photographers, poets, writers and musicians of the country. Charlevoix is unparalleled in nature to discover and breathe deeply with its outdoor activities of all kinds. It is this harmony between nature and culture that makes it a must-see destination either alone, with family or friends. Enjoy the scenery and take the time to live.

Youenjoy the region

experience the comfort of our luxury cottage

Suivez-nous sur Facebook!

Une communauté regorgeante d’idées, promotions et activités à découvrir à Charlevoix!

NOTRE BELLE RÉGION de Charlevoix

Activités Charlevoix hiver

L'histoire

Terre d’origine de plusieurs grandes familles Québécoises, elle est un lieu de passage pour les amérindiens avant le 17e siècle qui viennent y pratiquer chasse et pêche saisonnières. C’est à partir de 1675 que des colons d’origine européenne viennent s’y établir sous un régime seigneurial qui est finalement abolit en1854.

La région prend, pour la première fois le nom de Charlevoix en 1855 en l’honneur du père François-Xavier de Charlevoix, jésuite qui fut le premier historien de la Nouvelle-France. Jusqu’au XXe siècle, les principales activités économiques étaient l’agriculture, le cabotage et la coupe de bois, mais on voyait déjà des touristes visiter la région à partir de 1760.

C’est par bateau de croisière que les touristes arrivent principalement dans la région après 1840, malgré son accès difficile. Ce n’est qu’en 1970 qu’une route moderne y ouvre à grandes portes le tourisme itinérant. Par la suite, le tourisme devient vite la principale activité de la région. Le Manoir Richelieu, encore présent aujourd’hui y fût construit en 1898.

  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix
  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix
  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix
  • Région chalets prestige Charlevoix

  Riche
patrimoine

Située sur la rive nord du Fleuve Saint-Laurent, la région de Charlevoix possède un riche patrimoine naturel, historique et touristique. Depuis 1988, elle est reconnue comme réserve mondiale de la biosphère par L’UNESCO.

Les villes environnantes

Créée en 1979, la région touristique de Charlevoix regroupe parmi ses municipalité trois qui sont membre de l’Association des plus veaux villages du Québec. La découverte de la région se fait par secteurs : Baie-Saint-Paul et ses environs, la route du Fleuve de Charlevoix, l’Isle-aux-Coudres, la Route des Montagnes de Charlevoix, La Malbaie et ses environs, le secteur du Parc marin de Charlevoix et la Route des Saveurs de Charlevoix.

  • Baie-Saint-Paul
  • Les Éboulements
  • L'Isle-aux-Coudres
  • Petite-Rivière-Saint-François
  • Saint-Hilarion
  • Saint-Urbain
  • Lac-Pikauba
  • Baie-Sainte-Catherine
  • Clermont
  • La Malbaie
  • Notre-Dame-des-Monts
  • Saint-Aimé-des-Lacs
  • Saint-Irénée
  • Saint-Siméon
  • Mont-Élie
  • Sagard

Agrotourisme

Agrotourisme et fine cuisine vous offrent une expérience inoubliable en Charlevoix dont la réputation culinaire n’est plus à faire. Les chefs et producteurs de la région ne cessent de rivaliser d’ingéniosité et d’originalité. Ils apportent leur touche particulière aux produits offerts et mets cuisinés afin de se démarquer et pour que vous preniez le plus grand plaisir à les déguster.

Notre belle région en photos

Située à l’est de Québec au coeur du Bouclier canadien, cette région, à proximité de la Capitale-Nationale, est riche d'une tradition d’accueil qui remonte à plus de 2 siècles. Ses décors évocateurs et inspirants ont conquis les peintres, mais aussi les photographes, poètes, écrivains et musiciens du pays. Charlevoix, c'est une nature sans pareil à découvrir et à respirer à pleins poumons avec ses activités de plein air de tous genres. C'est cette harmonie entre nature et culture qui en font une destination incontournable seul, en famille ou entre amis. Profitez des paysages et prenez le temps de vivre.

Vousaimez la région

vivez le confort de nos chalets de prestige

Suivez-nous sur Facebook!

Une communauté regorgeante d’idées, promotions et activités à découvrir à Charlevoix!